5 years ago....

Starship Krupa

I don't have the exact date, it seems that it took a few days for the press release to propagate. Wikipedia points to an article dated November 21, 2017, so I'll go with that.

It's the anniversary of that upsetting announcement saying that there would be no Cakewalk Inc. no more, after 30 years in business.

I don't have much to say except that while I was not a SONAR user at the time I was shocked, and sad on behalf of the faithful SONAR users. I had been using Mixcraft for a few years and I would have been BUMMED if Acoustica had suddenly announced that they were ending it all.

Things eventually worked out about as well as they possibly could have, but it was 3 months until the Bandlab announcement, I would imagine those were very, very long months for some people.  I know that when the Bandlab announcement came, some SONAR faithful felt like the day laborers who started early in The Parable of the Workers in the Vineyard.

I'm glad that some people managed to hang on, and I'm glad that some of the good folk who no longer primarily use Cakewalk (or no longer use it at all) have stuck around on the forum.

• Like 3

19 hours ago, craigb said:

Wow... 5 years!  It feels like only 60 months ago... 😮

😜

(I still remember helping Greg debug an issue back in 1987 using my super-expensive Turtle Beach General MIDI sound card!  Yikes!)

You don't have to show us your math skills  😆

On 11/22/2022 at 12:24 AM, Starship Krupa said:

I don't have the exact date, it seems that it took a few days for the press release to propagate. Wikipedia points to an article dated November 21, 2017, so I'll go with that.

It's the anniversary of that upsetting announcement saying that there would be no Cakewalk Inc. no more, after 30 years in business.