Band in a Box share you thoughts!

My 14 year old Grandson has taken up the guitar and songwriting and I realized that he would need some sort of tools to help him get his ideas started. 

So I bought Band in A Box based on my limited knowledge of what it can do. I had a copy of it back in 200? .

He is a total beginner so his skill at creating chord progressions is zero. But we worked it out because his song was based on very traditional Allen Jackson style country. 

I soon managed to enter the chords for his song and we found a suitable style that instantly brought his song to life. He was hooked. 

So I’ll leave him on his own because a 14 year old should actually learn how to use the software faster than me. But the difference will really be he will have to heavily rely on BiaB to write the music until his chops get better. I’m hoping it will also introduce him to 3 chord music theory. 

Anyhow myself I have been monkeying around with it and slowly learning more about it. 

I’ll admit that I was not expecting what I’ve been discovering as I learn more about it. The developers seems to have been putting a lot of work into improvements and adding features. 
The interface is super old school but who cares if it gets the job done. 
What I really discovered is how this software is 100 %  dedicated to creating good old fashioned real music and is totally not for making any form of modern styles like EDM. 
It’s made for old school bar band musicians, as well as singer songwriters like me. Not mention lots of other live music like for Church, dances, Jazz trios, Cowboys, bluegrass you name it.  

This is totally the opposite of Cakewalks Next.  
I’m thinking I might end up with a totally new workflow based on BiaB for both getting down song ideas as well as creating backing tracks. 
It seems you can actually finish a song down to fine details in it. 
Yet to be discovered by me is how much midi editing is possible.