"Inspired by ABBA DRUMS" for Kontakt (+ WAV)

facets

3 hours ago, TheSteven said:

I can't recall how many times I've heard an ABBA song and just been floored by their awesome drum sound.

Exactly. I was a working drummer many years and I can't say I've ever heard an Abba song where the drums sounded compelling -- or anything sounded compelling. Okay, I admit it, I loathe that awful, kitsch music. 

• Like 2

Also, someone needs to explain international trademark laws to this developer. In promoting The Beatles' sounding drum kit, he thought he was getting around trademark law by naming the drum kit "The Beatle" -- that violates the famous bands' trademark and it sounds, well, less than good. This time, his copy reads "Abbar." Yes, Abbar just sounds ridiculous, like the drum kit with a bass drum head that reads "The Beatle." It's still violating these artist's trademarks even though they sound like bad jokes.  Here's some free branding advice from a professional, instead of violating these parties intellectual property rights with bad sounding ridiculously minor variations of their trademarks, why not do something like :"Take a Chance Drums" or something like what EastWest did with their Beatles' sample library, calling it "Fab Four"? Okay, I loved The Beatles and know lots of stories about the band and know considerably less about Abba -- but far more than I want to know, to be candid. But if you do that and you don't violate these artists' registered trademarks -- specifically meaning their band names, which have enormous worth -- there is a chance if any representative saw what you're doing you'd get a cease and desist notice. I'm not a trademark attorney, but I have enough experience in the area that Interpol quotes me by name in their documentation on trademarks as do several books that cover the topic.