Midi and Sustain

Act20

Question

I've seen similar questions asked and I've tried their solutions, but nothing is working or I'm doing it wrong.

I have an Alesis v49 midi controller hooked up to the latest cakewalk. The controller plays no problem through the default Cakewalk virtual piano.. I have a standard Proline sustain pedal plugged into the 'sustain' port on the back. It isn't doing anything at all. Might as well not be there. 

*The pedal works on my regular keyboard

*I disabled the "shift" thing in the keyboard shortcuts

Not sure what else to do. I'm very new to DAWs, please overexplain. I find the Edit>Preferences>Midi style format very helpful. Thank you

14 answers to this question

If you record MIDI are sustain pedal message recorded, and do they show as CC64 in the Controller pane of the Piano Roll view or in the Event List view? the value should be 0 for pedal up and 127 for pedal down. If there are no messages recorded or they are something other than CC64, it's a problem or configuration issue with the Alesis. The pedal is just an on/off switch; It's up to the controller to generate the message.

Views > Event List (Alt+8) should show you something like this:

image.png

Edited by David Baay

7 minutes ago, David Baay said:

If you record MIDI are sustain pedal message recorded, and do they show as CC64 in the Controller pane of the Piano Roll view or in the Event List view? the value should be 0 for pedal up and 127 for pedal down. If there are no messages recorded or they are something other than CC64, it's a problem or configuration issue with the Alesis. The pedal is just an on/off switch; It's up to the controller to generate the message.

Views > Event List (Alt+8_ should show you something like this:

image.png

Thank you. There are no messages pertaining to the pedal. What sorts of configuration issues could cause this?

1 hour ago, John Vere said:

Is the pedal the correct pedal for that keyboard? There’s often different pedals.