How to adjust the volume knobs.

yamadatarou

Question

Finally, there is work to reduce the sound pressure of the master track to 0db or less,
If you set automation for individual tracks, you will not be able to adjust the volume knobs.
I want to lower the volume evenly, but what should I do?

And, if it has other ways to reduce the volume of trucks.

Please tell me.

11 answers to this question

Route the tracks that have volume automation to a sub-bus and route that sub-bus to the master bus.

Then you can adjust the overall volume of the automated tracks together using the volume slider of the sub-bus.

14 minutes ago, 57Gregy said:

Route the tracks that have volume automation to a sub-bus and route that sub-bus to the master bus.

Then you can adjust the overall volume of the automated tracks together using the volume slider of the sub-bus.

I had thought of a way to do it, but
Since I'm a beginner, I didn't know if there would be any changes in the sound quality, so I didn't try it.
This advice comes from someone who has experience using it, so it seems okay.
I'll try.

the challenge with the gain control to shift volume on an automated track (presuming overall level change) is the impact on effects or other gain staging impacts (over / under drive - undesirable clipping / loss of the saturation effect).

so, for large overall change -> use offset mode, for small spot changes -> more automation envelope edits 🙂 use the clip gain envelope as a  "pre-compressor / expander / de-esser" function (etc) to get the consistency on the clip levels.

• Like 2
  • Great Idea 1

Thank you so much.

I try to change the volume that uses automation of each track.
It is over 0db place of each.

But the master truck doesn't over 0db.
Does it need to adjust to lower the peak place of each track?
Each track is over 0db (become red).

Even if the master track is not red, will the sound quality deteriorate if each track is red?