SOFO [Sonic Foundry] - The nail in the coffin (a sort-of obituary for a music software legend)

User 905133

Long time users of Sound Forge and Acid might remember Sonic Foundry.  Facing financial issues, the company sold music-making tools Sound Forge and Acid (as well as Vegas) to SONY and did a 10-to-1 reverse split.  As many people today know, Magix acquired Sound Forge, Acid, and Vegas.  Meanwhile, SOFO used the money from the sale to develop its video capture system business, MediaSite .

Recently, SOFO shareholders approved the sale of MediaSite to Enghouse.

I am not a lawyer or a corporate accountant and do not hold an MBA, but so far as I can tell for all practical purposes after bills are paid and management gets its severance pay, what was once SonicFoundry has nothing left to sell off.  I could be wrong, but I don't see anything that says shareholders of publicly purchased shares of SOFO will get anything, making this deal even worse than the 10 cents per share Corel shareholders held when Corel went private (i.e., "sold" to venture capitalists, IIRC).  

Nonetheless, fans of Acid, Sound Forge, and Vegas IMO should appreciate the company that was once Sonic Foundry for the role it played in developing some special software that in some ways laid the foundation for other companies to make tools for music makers.

Edited by User 905133
added Vegas
  • Like 1

The name brings back memories. I loved Sound Forge so much back then. I wouldn't have changed a thing about it.