Audio Not Opening with 'Save As' Projects

Stephen Power

Question

I've got projects that include midi and audio tracks. If I 'save as' and give them a different name, they are not opening with the audio files in place.

Cakewalk says it can't find the audio and eventually (after a lot of 'skipping files', it opens with the audio clips flat (no audio).

Very frustrating as I can only open auto-saved projects (with original name). Not ones with new name.

Can you tell me what happening and how to 'save as' with a new name and in another directory without losing the audio.

Thanks for any help.

Edited by Stephen Power

8 answers to this question

1 hour ago, John Vere said:

Check the box to copy audio with project. 

Hi John, yes the box is checked. I have been saving as for many many years this way with no issues. This issue is pretty recent or that I only recently discovered it when opening a save as version I saved on an external drive. I am on latest Cbb not sonar. 

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, treesha said:

Hi John, yes the box is checked. I have been saving as for many many years this way with no issues. This issue is pretty recent or that I only recently discovered it when opening a save as version I saved on an external drive. I am on latest Cbb not sonar. 

The same for me. The box about copying audio is definitely checked - and is always checked.

The weird thing was that my projects wanted to open in the new (un-saveable) Sonar this morning, and I had to do a 'open with' (CbB) to get back to it.

I'm wondering if it might have something to do with 'auto save' and/or the number of versions that can/should be saved. Any helpful suggestions welcome.

Edited by Stephen Power
  • Like 1