How to reduce Hiss / Noise on Tail of Audio Clip

Stephen Power

Question

I'm mixing 35 audio tracks, one of them is a triangle with 3 hits. It leaves a hissing noise on the tail as it fades out.

Can you advise on what to use to reduce the hiss - and walk me through it please. I've tried the Cakewalk compressor and gate, but I'm not sure if I'm setting them correctly - I'm not experienced with using these tools. Thank you.

p.s. I can't remove or replace the track - the mix is for a competition and all the tracks (35 in total) need to be in place.

Edited by Stephen Power

5 answers to this question

this is a recorded triangle - if so - then the hiss is part of the audio and to get it to trail off while reducing the hiss - you might need to pre-process it using something like RX to remove and/or attenuate the noise and/or manually edit it. depending also on the perfection needed - use a sample or synth to re-create the triangle part (think of it as "drum replacement" or "sample augmentation" 🙂 )

• Like 1

50 minutes ago, Glenn Stanton said:

this is a recorded triangle - if so - then the hiss is part of the audio and to get it to trail off while reducing the hiss - you might need to pre-process it using something like RX to remove and/or attenuate the noise and/or manually edit it. depending also on the perfection needed - use a sample or synth to re-create the triangle part (think of it as "drum replacement" or "sample augmentation" 🙂 )

Thanks for that, I was just about to Google Izotope RX, as someone else mentioned it. I can't replace or remove the track, as it's for a competition and the tracks all need to remain in place.

2 hours ago, Stephen Power said:

I'm mixing 35 audio tracks, one of them is a triangle with 3 hits. It leaves a hissing noise on the tail as it fades out.