Playback stuck at beginning of timeline, won't budge, I'm gonna cry

Lucie

Hi!

I'm having an issue since this morning. When I press play, the cursor stays stuck very rapidly going back and forth between 00:00:00:00 and 00:00:00:01. Every now and then, it will randomly decide to go through and play correctly (I can hear my audio perfectly fine when it does, so it's not an audio output issue), but then it gets stuck at the start again and I can't scrub through my timeline. When I try and put the cursor anywhere, it snaps back to the start.

I did not have this issue before, and I didn't change anything since yesterday. I tried restarting  Cakewalk a few times, opening new projects, but nothing works. I've also tried changing from  WASAPI to MME and ASIO, same issue. 

I'm still a newbie and don't know much about hardware so please explain everything like you would to a very stupid 10 year old who somehow got access to all of this. Thank you so much in advance for your help!

No, you're right - it doesn't look like you have any loop points set. Hmm.. this is a weird one, it all looks good so far.

If you go to Options > Stop and Project End and make sure there's no checkmark on that, will it continue to play?

I'm happy to have a look at the project itself if you PM me a link, to see if there's something weird going on, but it doesn't sound project specific to me - this sounds like something set up wrong on Cakewalk (like the loop points, but... yeah, clearly not)

Sadly that didn't change anything either...

I'll PM you a link to the project, but it's empty (I created this one purely for testing out this issue, this is happening with all of my other projects as well).  If you can find anything in there that'd be awesome, but it does look more like a set up or hardware issue to me too (which, once again, doesn't make sense since everything worked just fine last time I used it yesterday).

• Like 1