HELP!! I tried to move my Cakewalk to my D Drive! But now nothing works!!

Alicia Anthony

Question

I'm a DAW newbie. I was doing really well, though, with Cakewalk until I started running out of space on my C drive (SSD, configured with only 125G of space). I've been struggling with space for a while and then today I couldn't even download a track so I could upload it to Cakewalk.

I had initially put everything on my D drive because my C drive was so small. But apparently some things in Cakewalk go to my C drive by default. I carefully copied the Cakewalk folder and put it in my D drive.  I also copied it to my external hard drive. I thought I'd be protected if I deleted it from my C drive. Apparently not! I also apparently deleted the Cakewalk shortcut from my desktop. So, of course, Cakewalk now won't open.

The folder is just as I copied it in two places, but not on my C drive. I tried to copy it back to my C drive, but the 1G+ I received by deleting it is now gone! So I don't have enough space to put the folder back!

Can this be fixed? What I would like to do is put EVERYTHING  on another drive so I can continue with my projects with my co-writers. Is that possible? I don't see how I can get enough space on my C drive to move the file back.

I'm afraid I've lost all of my tracks and vocals stems. Please help! Thanks!

A. Anthony

20 answers to this question

If it were me I would simply reinstall Cakewalk to your C drive which is were it belongs. Once you have that sorted make sure you store your projects on the other drive. 
You should be fine as long as you don’t store any data to the C drive. Just use it for the Software. 

• Like 1

9 hours ago, Colin Nicholls said:

Take a deep breath. Most likely your project files are intact.

By default, you would have had:

C:\Program Files\Cakewalk\*
C:\Cakewalk Content\*
C:\Cakewalk Projects\*

Did you copy all three folders? Did you delete the originals? Could they still be in your recycle bin?