Buzzing and crackling sounds

I’m a real novice with Cakewalk and only use it in a very limited way - I use the Steven Slate Drums plugin in a single track and run my e-drum kit via my Focusrite Scarlett via MIDI. I have Cakewalk on my HP laptop, all works fine.

Last week I decided to setup my old Microsoft Surface Book laptop with Cakewalk and use that for the drum kit so I can leave it connected and don’t need to use my business laptop (the HP) for the drums. Previously everything worked fine when using the Surface, but now, when I start to play the sound is fine, but after a minute or so I start to hear loud buzzing and crackling sounds, that continue when I stop playing. The settings in Cakewalk and for the Scarlett are identical between the 2 laptops, but only the Surface Book generates these sounds. If I shutdown Cakewalk the noises stop.

I have no idea where to start looking to troubleshoot this issue - can someone guide me where to look and what to check? Thanks.

Thanks John, but I have everything setup. All was working fine on this laptop previously, and works fine on my other laptop. What I need help with is why I’m now getting this interference on the first laptop that used to be ok!?

Windows updates, driver updates etc. can cause changes. Installing new software or applications can also cause issues.

The best way to check what is causing it is to use Resplendence Latencymon to check for things that could be causing dropouts. 

Also, knowing what your audio interface is, the driver model used and bit depth and sample rate you are using can help people help you trouble shoot.

• Like 2

I posted the video first because if you follow everything I go over then that rules out the majority of common issues people always have. 
It’s not clear now if you actually watched it so we are still in the place where we really don’t know anything about your set up. Only that you have laptops and a Scarlett interface.