Recording latency and crashing when hitting record... using scarlett 2i2 and WASAPI shared

Simon Webster

Question

Hi, Im a total newbie to the computing side of things with all this- Im getting a delay when hitting record before the count in  click starts and often recording will stop entirely, I have spent a lot of time trying to figure this out and researching, all tutorials say the same thing- use ASIO however when i select that , it says realtek ASIO is known to be incompatible with cakewalk, and the only driver mode that will work is WASAPI shared, which has a fixed latency setting by the look of things. Driver settings are all up to date on my focusrite, I have uninstalled then reinstalled and checked they are up to date. Im using Windows 11. Here are the settings preferences: Hope somebody could be of help to get this sorted- thanks!

image.thumb.png.d2ec1a3f5c6d4859b367916451bdf6f6.pngimage.thumb.png.3808e40298141324e9d70215a350ac2d.pngimage.thumb.png.782fcc35015374579e062956d6758bee.png

image.png

image.png

10 answers to this question

First place to start is Google "Scarlett [put gen here] 2i2 drivers" and download the ASIO drivers from Focusrite. If you have 3rd Gen, then "Scarlett 3rd Gen 2i2 drivers."

Focusrite has dedicated ASIO drivers which you want to use, especially when you have recording and playback through the same device. Start there (you may need to reboot after), then set your Driver Mode in CbB to ASIO and adjust the other preference screens (if needed) to focus that device. 128 or 256 as an Audio Buffer is a safe place to start; but if your CPU can handle it, you can start lowering that buffer to improve latency.

• Great Idea 1

16 minutes ago, mettelus said:

First place to start is Google "Scarlett [put gen here] 2i2 drivers" and download the ASIO drivers from Focusrite. If you have 3rd Gen, then "Scarlett 3rd Gen 2i2 drivers."