Muted audio versus muted midi - different visually?

Sal Sorice

Question

Note: Using current version of CbB (2022.11, build 021)

I'm new to working with take lanes / comping and muting selections to stitch together the best parts of several takes. What I find a bit confusing is that when you mute some midi notes they show as white (muted) in BOTH the take lane and the track itself, like this:

image.png.c32f471abc412559f55c6d7260b59e17.png

However, when you do the same with an audio track, the muted parts are ghosted in the take lane but not in the track itself, like this:

image.png.f8fb3533f280e7c43f35cfa3173adef9.png

Not intuitive, at least to me. I assume this is by design, but why? Is there a setting I am missing?

6 answers to this question

Are you sure in your midi example that the clip showing in the track is actually not selected for the track? What I mean is that when you are comping you don't actually mute notes or audio you promote the piece of the take lane you want to be in your track by swiping, with the smart tool, in the bottom part of the take lane you want. it will then split the take into a clip where you did the swipe and promote that part of that take to the track and disable all other takes in that time range. They appear different but are not really muted, just not going to play in the current track.  

If you just mute audio and midi notes then the takes that are active then they are still part of the track just individually muted. 

https://www.cakewalk.com/Documentation?product=Cakewalk&language=3&help=Arranging.57.html

image.png.cbefdc6639ec258e69a1ae5cd874d0c9.png

Thanks reginaldStjohn,
I see what you mean about the midi notes, but what is non-intuitive (at least to me) is that the audio parts that are muted show that way in the take lane, but not in the track lane. I'd expect them to 'match'

Example: