How can I use my Keyboard on multiple MIDI tracks?

Mintaka

Question

Hey, I'm pretty new to cakewalk  :)

I just recorded a MIDI track, using my keyboard (Yamaha DGX-305) and everything worked fine.

Now I wanted to record another MIDI track, using the same keyboard (but another VSTi instrument).

First I choosed "MIDI Omni" as the input channel for both tracks which ended in a fatal error.

Then I choosed "MIDI-Channel 1" for the first track and "MIDI-Channel 2" for the second. This didn't end in an error but I couldn't hear any sounds from the second track, while playing the keyboard (input echo was enabled).
Choosing any other MIDI-Channel than "MIDI-Channel 1" endet up with me hearing no sound at all (even for the first track).

"MIDI-Channel 2" for the first track and "MIDI-Channel 1" for the second also ended with a fatal error.

Can someone explain this to me, please? And is there a solution to my problem?

Thank you for your help :)

10 answers to this question