Some VST's Only Playing when Track is Frozen

Stephen Power

Question

Another puzzle (for me) guys, please...

Some plugins, such as the violin runs in the Vienna Synchron player and some others that have 'effects' rather than notes, will pay ONLY ONCE when loaded.

Moving the now marker back and playing again (or closing down Cakewalk and re-opening it) results in silence.

BUT, if I freeze the track, it will play all the time. 'Zero controllers when stopped' is not checked.

Any thoughts on how I can get them to play without freezing - and why it's happening? Thanks for your help.

7 answers to this question

12 hours ago, Promidi said:

Are both “MIDI Event Chase on Play” and “Include Note Events” selected?

Yes, they are both selected. I assume that's correct? I've had this issue with a few 'instruments' that play complex 'events' on one note (such as the violin runs I mentioned and vocal sounds.) Although I'm still a beginner with DAW's I'm guess that must be the root of the issue, somehow? 

zero.png

Edited by Stephen Power

Yes, that’s the setting I use. 

When I start playback after a note start but before its end, the chase function searches back to play that note.

For me, this works for VSTis as well as outboard gear.

Maybe some VSTis need time to initialise before playing a note

Are you using lot's of controllers? Are there some where many controllers are happening at the same time?

• Like 1

7 minutes ago, Promidi said:

Are you using lot's of controllers? Are there some where many controllers are happening at the same time?

Thanks again. I'm only using one controller at a time, it's a recently added Impact Lx25+, but I've had a similar issue with another VSTi with the M-Audio Keystation mini 32. Only the LX25+ and a Yamaha piano are connected to Cakewalk (the latter is not usually switched on).

I do have output on all tracks set to 'all external midi'>omni.

Edited by Stephen Power

51 minutes ago, Stephen Power said: