Any tips for mixing with headphones?

Hi. Ive been a musician for decades but I'm pretty new to mixing. My biggest issue is mixing at lower volume levels. The music just sounds better turned up a decent bit. However, the other night I overdid it to the point where my ears were ringing. I've since downloaded a break reminder app to remind me to take more breaks.

Btw, I do have  Rockit 5 monitors but my room is not treated and I have to watch to not disturb my neighbors.

I know some pro mixers mix with cans so I'm just fishing for any advice that might help me get good mixes without hurting my ears.

One lesson I'm learning is that lots of compression on the low end will punch the crap out of ur eardrums. Man, my ears are still sore 😖

Pro mixers work at a very low volume with nearfield monitors most of the time, turning it up now and then to check bass. They do this to keep their ears fresh. At higher volumes, it doesn't take long for our hearing to shift, so that, by the end of the day, we're adding way too much high end to everything. Pro mixers can't afford to do that.

I would use the headphones to check for details - occasionally - but not to mix for extended periods of time. Just because they're headphones doesn't mean you're going to avoid hearing damage by using them. Quite the contrary. I don't recall the exact numbers, but they say a significant percentage of young people these days  already have permanent hearing damage due to listening. to loud music on headphones or airpods.

To get used to working at a lower volume, try comparing your mix to a mix from a commercial CD you like the sound of. You'd want to import the CD mix into your project so you could do an A/B. comparison while you're working. It's just a matter of retraining yourself so you can work at lower volumes. Higher volumes cause hearing damage, and hearing damage is permanent.

• Like 6