Layering and/or splitting multi Vst's in Cakewalk

bertus weyers

I really hope someone can give me advice.

I recently started working with CbB and find it very useful although confusing.

I have worked with Fruity Loops demo up to now but now need to record. I used the layering tool in FL Studio for live playing multi VST instruments.

I have asked around if there is a similar function in CbB but nobody seems to know if this is possible..

All I want to know is if this can be done and how? My question is:  If I want to play for instance  an orchestra Vst from key C3 to C5 and single viola from C5 to C8 how do I set it up?

Please forgive the mumbo jumbo, I have no music background or knowledge of the terminology and only started playing keyboard a few months ago.

If someone can give me advice, step by step, on how to do this I would appreciate it a lot. To make it clear what I need to do please refer to the attached screenshot.

Regards.

Screenshot (1).png

16 hours ago, bertus weyers said:

My question is:  If I want to play for instance  an orchestra Vst from key C3 to C5 and single viola from C5 to C8 how do I set it up?

I have never used it, but maybe the MFX [Midi FX] Event Filter might help to route different note ranges to different soft synths. 

Edit: Before today I never used it, but the MFX [Midi FX] Event Filter can be used to route note ranges to the same or different soft synths.

image.png.974f41c8ca93da852c62e3880f405538.png

Sorry.  If it can be done using the Midi Even Filter to route incoming midi data to VSTis, I haven't been able to figure out how.

See below for other options per scook and for the "Proof of Concept" marked up screen shot.

Edited by User 905133
to update post with results--it CAN be done :-)
  • Like 2
  • Great Idea 1

1 hour ago, scook said:

Yes, multiple MIDI tracks with different MIDI Event Filter settings will work