Recording Drums & Desktop (audio) - Post Recording Editing

Steve Humphries

Question

I am a drummer in a cover band and also post originals and covers on my YouTube channel (https://www.youtube.com/@drum_n_aries3310).

I was a ProTools user and switched to Cakewalk because I'm cheap. I am still somewhat of a beginner at audio engineering. I have watched a lot of videos, and even taken courses online. I have been using  a DAW with my Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 to record my drums. I am using 8 microphones (1 BD, 1 Snare, 2 Overheads, 4 toms). When it comes to recording just my drums, it is easy. Where it has become more complex is when I am also recording against a track. 

I am stumped with something right now in Cakewalk and I am going to do my best to explain it. 

Here is how I was recording In Cakewalk. I created audio templates with my desired EQ settings, etc. I have eight input channels for my drum mics and one input loop channel for my desktop audio (Input=Focusrite USB ASIO Loop 1). I then have all 9 channels selected to record. When I play it back, I am able to adjust each drum input with my desired EQs, FX, etc. A few months ago, I was hearing that my cymbals were making a weird “pinging” sound. I did some research and the topic of “phasing” came up. So, I looked at all of my channels and all phasing at set at normal. So, I start changing some to inverted phase to see if anything changed. Not so much. 

On accident (cause I won’t forget), I had my loop track set as solo for playback. I sat there for a second and thought, how come I hear the drums and the desktop audio? I was thinking that channel was only recording desktop audio and not my drums. What I did notice about that channel being on solo is that the cymbals did not have that pinging sound. So, I played around and listened to all channels and got that weird sound again.