How to use reference tracks witbout having to buy them?

Hi guys. I'm just learning to mix and I'm realizing that the first reference track I try usually isn't the best. And I cant afford to keep buying songs from itunes. How can I get song MP3s(even if it's just partial songs/samples) into Cakewalk to use as a reference?

Btw, I'm no computer wiz so I'm hoping there's a relatively straight forward(easy 😉) method. Thanks!

44 minutes ago, T Boog said:

Hi guys. I'm just learning to mix and I'm realizing that the first reference track I try usually isn't the best. And I cant afford to keep buying songs from itunes. How can I get song MP3s(even if it's just partial songs/samples) into Cakewalk to use as a reference?

Btw, I'm no computer wiz so I'm hoping there's a relatively straight forward(easy 😉) method. Thanks!

One easy way is youtube. Many options but I have found that 4K Youtube to MP3, which costs a whopping $15 is a great tool. You can also get the audio without this app but i like how easy it makes it.

• Like 2

21 minutes ago, Lynn Wilson said:

There are free programs that rip songs

CbB does that Import>From CD

From the main File drop down IIRC. 

I just pull up YT, hit record in CbB, we’ll actually, in Sonar now. As if by magic, Boom, reference track. 

28 minutes ago, Pathfinder said:

4K Youtube to MP3

$15, is a no brainer, off to YT to sign up; thanks Path!

t

• Like 2

27 minutes ago, Lynn Wilson said:

Can you not rip a song from a CD that you own already?  There are free programs that rip songs from a CD, just google them.

Exactly what I do.

Remember to route it directly to your main outs, bypassing any mastering Fx.

• Like 2

How to use reference tracks without having to buy them?

To clarify, you want to use someone else's work as a learning tool to make your own work sound better, but you don't want to pay for it? This is the attitude that's killing the music business - the very same business we aspire to be a part of.