Using a sampler

LQ

I've downloaded a sampler but I don't understand how to use it with Cakewalk. It's meant to be VST so I added it like a normal plugin but it isn't detected. I'm pretty new to this stuff so maybe I'm misunderstanding something.

7 minutes ago, LQ said:

I've downloaded a sampler but I don't understand how to use it with Cakewalk. It's meant to be VST so I added it like a normal plugin but it isn't detected. I'm pretty new to this stuff so maybe I'm misunderstanding something.

I use an old sampler--Emulator X.  It functions as a standalone sampler and also as a VSTi in Cakewalk.  I don't do anything special to make it work as a VSTi.  Is the sampler you chose in your VST scan path and did you rescan after you installed it?

26 minutes ago, User 905133 said:

I use an old sampler--Emulator X.  It functions as a standalone sampler and also as a VSTi in Cakewalk.  I don't do anything special to make it work as a VSTi.  Is the sampler you chose in your VST scan path and did you rescan after you installed it?

Yeah, I actually tried it with two different samplers and rescanned each time but unfortunately wasn't detected. I might try Emulator X and see if that one works.

3 minutes ago, User 905133 said:

Its an old one, hasn't been available for a decade (+/-).  I just mentioned it as an example.  I have seen other samplers listed in the forum that are available.  I just don't use them.

Oh okay. I just planned to try it to see if it worked or if there was a problem with where I'm putting the plugins or something.

33 minutes ago, LQ said:

That's actually the one I'm using. I probably should have specified, the ones I've tried are TX16Wx Software Sampler and Grace Sampler.

Yes, the more info provided the better.

Both of these work fine in CbB.

Maybe some more details about where they were installed, the scan path in preferences and which instrument plug-in layout is used in CbB.