Instrument Definition file for Yamaha DX7II or TX-802

I am pretty sure I found at least one site that has a variety of *.ins files for Yamaha.  Where have you looked so far?

UPDATE: I'm still looking, but in the meantime have you seen this post?

UPDATE # 2:  Evidently Yamaha has a whole page that includes a tool in addition to how to use it.

UPDATE # 3: If Yamaha doesn't have the ones you need or the tool they have doesn't work for your variants, this site has some resources that might help you.  If you have the MIDI documentation for your products, it should be straightforward to  tweak an existing Yamaha *.ins file.

UPDATE # 4: TX -802 Owner's Manual

Edited by User 905133
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Hi,

Thank you for the list of resources (sadly the linked site for the first post is now gone apparently). My biggest issue is I'm not really good at understanding how to make the basic definition (like, how to set the bank change methods and such. ). So I was hoping someone else had done something like that that I could adapt. It's really strange to me that nobody has seemingly ever made one that's shared anywhere, even for the keyboard.

I have been looking around for an instrument definition file for my Yamaha TX802 rack mount synth. As far as I could find, there seems to only be definitions for the original DX7, or the TX7 rack mount version. The TX802 has significant changes from the base unit (it's essentially the rack mount for the DX7 Mk 2 keyboard). Does anyone have either the MK2 definition (which I'd guess would work with) or one for the TX802? Or can you point me to where to download them?

They are oddly not in the Yamaha Classics Instrument definition pack, or any other I could find.

4 hours ago, james harknell said:

Thank you for the list of resources (sadly the linked site for the first post is now gone apparently).