Moving from Windows to Apple

Hi all,

As a rank novice I'd like some advice. I use a Samsung Laptop running Windows 10. I've finally had it up to here with Windows, years of endless endless problems and one pattern; a system that on every laptop just runs more slowly each month and then inevitably becomes almost unusable. I am going to move to an Apple, my kids have their Apple Macs for 10 years, not once has there been an issue. Not once!!  So my question is obviously; what do you all think about changing and if so would a reconditioned Apple Macbook Air 7.2 do the trick with Cakewalk? 8gb ram 256gbssd 15-5350u processor,( means zilch to me) I could buy new but ouch they are pricey.

I'm going to be very transparent in my reply. It may cross some people here, but we're all entitled to our opinions, right? I love Apple products. I hate Apple as a company. IMO they are snobs and try to "convert" all their customers into being snobs as well. What do I mean by snobs? "Apple is great. Everyone else (PC) sucks." No, everyone else doesn't suck.

Gratefully there are more choices than one so people can choose what kind of computer they want. PC's always have poor performance and Apple's never fail? That is blatantly false. If you believe that you are living in Disneyland. I have many examples from running both PC's and Mac's in a pro studio to know better. They both have their pluses and minuses. -Rant over-

Now then, Cakewalk is PC only.  You will need to have some way to boot into Windows from your Mac if you want to run Cakewalk. Many people do that--and even some from this forum. They can let you know which tool works best, but it's done all the time.

Good luck! 🙂

• Like 2

With programs like Cakewalk, the idea is to optimize performance. Running it in a virtual system, for example, is going in the opposite direction. Not worth it. If you go to Apple you'll have to use Logic or some other program that works on that system.