How to assign a VST plugin to an existing midi

Paolo Porro

Question

Hello everybody,

since I'm probably the most unable of the Cakewalk user, please forgive me immediately for my basic question. I also don't know if the title I gave to it is really correct and if it's really pointing out to what I need... Anyway, I'm really new to home recoding (it's a week I have Cakewalk installed...), and I will use the software just in order to record some sample for my bandmates.

This is my problem: I use to write songs and tab them using Guitar Pro, so I already have drums and bass tracks written that I can export as MIDI tracks. So, once I have exported singularly a drums midi track and a bass midi track and imported them in a new Cakewalk project, it would be cool to assign some "real sounds", but I really can't do it.

Substantially, I don't have to write a drums or a bass part using a map, I've them already done: I need to "transform" them in something "real", just to gave the best idea of the song.

827165669_Cakewalkstamp2.thumb.jpg.979b51530761dbe5aeb6e2b3b30ced5e.jpg

569404002_Cakewalkstamp.thumb.jpg.787fa814d5d351bcdeec27f4f7841d18.jpg

I don't know if this helps, but above is what I can see in the new project and in the piano roll (this is a drum midi already imported in the project). 

Since now, a friend of mine helped me recording some material with GarageBand, but I can remember a simple midi drag and drop to get an automatic assignment to various parts of the drums set (kick, hi-hat, snare, etc.), but this doesn't seem to be possible with Cakewalk.

Hope my question is clear, I'm sorry if I can't use any technical term to better explain contents (really a total newbie)... if someone of you can show me how to do, many thanks in advance!

11 answers to this question

Do not use import. This is designed to import clips into an existing project. It strips tempo information from the MIDI file.

To create a new project with an existing MIDI performance: