Step sequencer old school

Emanu3le85

19 minutes ago, Emanu3le85 said:

Hi sjoens ,thanks for the reply, I'm not an expert in changing themes, where exactly should these images  be placed? 

In order to do it (that is, make graphical changes to the theme rather than just color changes), you must use Theme Editor along with a graphics editor like Paint.NET, Photoshop, or Paint Shop Pro. The best resource for learning how to use Theme Editor is The Young Lady's Illustrated Primer to Theming Cakewalk.

Once you have Theme Editor set up, when you find the image(s) you wish to alter, you can launch your graphics editor directly from Theme Editor, make the change(s) and then save it back to Theme Editor.

Theme Editor stores the color settings and images in proprietary files with the .STH extension.

Near as I can tell, the step sequencer buttons in SONAR 7 don't look a heck of a lot different from the standard ones in the current Cakewalk. If you read the bit in The Young Lady's Illustrated Primer you'll see the result of some serious spelunking I did in regard to figuring out which of the 12 cells of the Step Button image go with what button states in Step Sequencer. You can weigh for yourself whether it's worth it to try to approximate the old ones.

If you get stuck figuring out Theme Editor, we will try to help get you unstuck.

• Like 2

thanks for the help Krupa, I like sonar 7 buttons for the three-dimensionality that is missing in Cbb where everything is flat, I have many things to customize. I have been using the "M thungsten" theme for a long time, minimally modified by myself, but I don't know how to use the theme editor well. Will Cbb themes be compatible with the new sonar?

Edited by Emanu3le85

Not likely.  So enjoy it while you can now.

Go to Theme Editor>Step Sequencer>Step Button

Also, you can tell Theme Editor to go directly to your favorite image editor when running the setup wizard.  Then just double click a Theme image to open it.