Jump to content
  • 0
micv

is there an 'exclusive' Solo?

Question

If there's already solo track(s), I want to be able to hit solo on a track and only that track is solo'ed.  Currently to solo each track I have to un-solo and solo.  Thought there's got to be a way.   

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

5 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 2

Yes, info is here. "Note: When you enable Exclusive Solo mode, currently soloed tracks and buses are not affected until the next time you solo a track or bus."

  • Like 1
  • Great Idea 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
17 hours ago, mettelus said:

Yes, info is here. "Note: When you enable Exclusive Solo mode, currently soloed tracks and buses are not affected until the next time you solo a track or bus."

That does it. 

Interestingly if I shift-solo on a track the track solo icon/button is the 'exclusive solo' but behaves like normal mode.  Not sure what that icon mean on a track.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

A little confusing. Instead of Exclusive Solo icon it should have an Exclusive Play icon? :D

1085824039_exclusiveplay.png.46f75c17458914c12298ed86c7f65421.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 9/10/2019 at 6:15 PM, micv said:

Interestingly if I shift-solo on a track the track solo icon/button is the 'exclusive solo' but behaves like normal mode.  Not sure what that icon mean on a track.

That's Solo Override. I has no effect until you solo some other track; then it prevents the Override-enabled track(s) from being silenced. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Posted (edited)

Didn't mention that detail 'cause I thought he already knew.

Yes, Solo Override simply prevents a track from being unsoloed when soloing other tracks while in Exclusive Solo mode. In normal mode it does nothing.

However, I don't think what the OP wants is doable without global Exclusive Solo already on. But he's been gone for 6 months.

However #2, The quoted statement from the documentation by mettelus seems untrue. Clicking Exclusive Solo after other tracks are soloed will unsolo them, so they are affected. But this feature may have been changed w/o updating the documentation.

It shouldn't have been changed as it seems more useful to have any soloed tracks still soloed when activating E.S.

Edited by sjoens

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now

×
×
  • Create New...