New mix 24 08 2023 Remember the name, a cover of a rap song of all things.

Zargg

Hi. I thought I'd try something I've never tried before, which is to "rap".

I think the original song is cool (Remember the name by Fort Minor), so thought, why not give it a go, so here it is.

Feedback is appreciated.

All the best.
To add: I've tried to remedy some masking issues that were pointed out to me by Charlie Roy (from the old forum) on his Mixing and Mastering tips forum on FB.

Edited by Zargg
New mix
  • Like 5

The one thing that stands out is the the lack of weight in the drums, especially the kick. is it because the vocals are to forward with the rest of the mix. 

The backing sounds balanced but the vox is a bit forward.

Perhaps just these furry ears mix not quite to your normal standard sir sorry.

• Like 1

2 hours ago, Wookiee said:

The one thing that stands out is the the lack of weight in the drums, especially the kick. is it because the vocals are to forward with the rest of the mix. 

The backing sounds balanced but the vox is a bit forward.

Perhaps just these furry ears mix not quite to your normal standard sir sorry.

Thanks for listening and feedback, Wooks. 
I'm gonna try to get some more oomph in the drums. 
I'll also try to remedy the vocals.

All the best.

46 minutes ago, jack c. said:

i like it boy that is some voice.jack c

Thanks for listening and positive feedback, Jack.

I tried to use a different kind of voice throughout the song, as the original is performed by several people.

All the best.

To be honest not my kind of music.
The mix separation is great on the guitars.
The rap you've got it 🙂

We all pain different pictures..  but compression on the voice could be used a little more to make the vocal come forward and a little more understandable.

• Like 1

5 hours ago, garybrun said:

To be honest not my kind of music.
The mix separation is great on the guitars.
The rap you've got it 🙂