Jump to content
martins

EnablePluginCancelButton

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)

adding this line

EnablePluginCancelButton=1

on the cakewalk.ini file

wich is there (C:\Users\user\AppData\Roaming\Cakewalk\Cakewalk Core)(see the picture below)

WINCAKE.png

 

 

 

nex time you will open a plugin(there will be a new button on top- right of the plugin

like you see in this picture below

button.png

 

let's say you open a plug to make some adjustements and you dont want to keep it,

you just press this button,it will discard the change made on the plug..

 

thanks martin

 

 

Edited by martins
  • Like 2
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Martin, Where were you with this when I needed it two days ago? When I changed the attack time of a compressor on an acoustic guitar track that was perfect and subsequently had to change the output gain too while forgetting to remember the initial values of those parameters?

I thought well, Ron, that's what mix scenes are for but I forget to do that too.

Martin, I thank you for this. It does work and I will use it.

Whether or not I remember to use that button.

Addendum:  Don't close the effect GUI or you loose the revert values.

 

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@martins

How does the program know what to do when the button is pressed?  Does this change make a hidden button visible?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

From the docs:

In Cakewalk 4.0.2 and earlier, opening the property page of a VST plug-in during playback could result in a slight disruption in playback.

The cause for this problem has its roots in the little Cancel button that sits in the top right corner of the plug-in's property page. The purpose of this button is to allow the user to cancel out of any changes they might have made to the plug-in, restoring back to whatever state the plug-in was in before they opened the GUI window. To make this work, Cakewalk would need to take an initial snapshot of the plug-in's state, and some plug-ins with large amounts of preset data could cause an audio hiccup if the data was captured for the Cancel button.

To address this issue, Cakewalk 4.0.3 (and later) does not take a snapshot of the plug-in's state by default, and the Cancel button is not available.

http://www.cakewalk.com/Documentation?product=Cakewalk&language=3&help=INI_Files.4.html

Given that PC's are much faster than they were in CW 4.02, I doubt if this is still an issue having this option set.

Edited by msmcleod
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 hours ago, fogle622 said:

How does the program know what to do when the button is pressed?  Does this change make a hidden button visible?

it simply close the plugin & discard change make

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I didnt even know that code still exists. I don't see why it would need to take a snapshot on each open of the view since we generally know when plugin parameters are changed - at least for most plugins.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now

×