Tell me About - Analog Tape Saturation VST

sadicus

I'm not an engineer and my ears might not pick up the subtly so Anyone that has an opinion Tell me About - Analog Tape Saturation.
What is considered  'the best' and why. There are so many including the built in Cakewalk tape. 
I think it has something to do with making the high-end not so brittle sounding?

Tape exhibited a low-frequency "head bump" that added a low-frequency boost; this was different for different tape speeds. Also, tape softened transients and added distortion. Even sine waves as low as -20 dB would start showing a tiny bit of distortion, which increased as the level increased. The distortion also meant you could get a higher average level.

But bear in mind that there's no such thing as "universal" tape saturation. Tape required interacting EQ and bias adjustments that had an effect on frequency response, distortion, and level. So for example you could have better high-frequency response if you were willing to trade off for more distortion. Also, different tape formulations had different characteristics. Tape Emulation plug-ins should be called "emulations of particular recorders, using particular tape, calibrated in a specific way, and which may or may not have been well-maintained."

I wrote a comprehensive article for the Waves web site comparing their J37 and Kramer master tape plug-ins. It does not go into marketing-speak, it's about what tape did and what tape emulation does. It also has a couple audio examples, and I think it will answer pretty much any questions you might have about tape emulation.

• Thanks 2

@Craig Andertonthank you that really is well explained AND with audio examples! Your ability to write music and detailed articles is impressive!
@GreenLightyea a good example is $99 Softube Tape vs $29 Analog Pro. Hmm I need my song to worble like it's played on a FisherPrice Stereo plastic Disc! ..oh and don't forget the dust noise, gotta add a sprinkle of that.