CbB no longer recognizes MIDI

MisterGreen

I don't know what I did, but my MIDI controller is no longer recognized in CbB. I opened standalone apps like Addictive Drums and Battery and the controller worked. So, it seems to be isolated to Cakewalk. My Saffire is checked under MIDI Devices settings. Is there a setting somewhere that I inadvertently switched off?

Edited by George Abercrombie

What ever you wish. If TTSSEQ.INI is not found when CbB starts up, the program creates a new one with default settings. The purpose for renaming the ini files is to compare the old with the new. This is especially important if the old file has some custom settings.

• Thanks 1

IIRC, it used to be that SONAR/Cakewalk recognized when new midi devices were connected; however, last night the usb keyboard I have been using for about 6 months wasn't immediately recognized.  Not sure if it was because I plugged it in to a different usb port or what. Eventually, it was listed in  Preferences > MIDI Devices (unchecked) and showed up in the MIDI Input Track Control Widget--after I had enabled it in Preferences.

Re-loading the project did not automatically assign the keyboard as the midi device for the tracks where it had previously been assigned.

Just offering my experiences in case it helps point to debugging strategies.  I have no idea why hot plugging midi devices no longer registers (or if that feature was removed sometime and I never noticed it) and no idea which thing I did made it visible again.