Look for clues to make bgm

syoka wong

Hi, I am new to Cakewalk.
I want to make the timbre which is common in games like:
the lead in 0:21-0:25 of

and 8:31-8:35 of

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yk3qjsEUWds&t=279s

I have downloaded Vital and BBC Orchestra plugin but still have no clues how to make such sounds.

Does anybody could teach me how to produce similar sounds, or is any plugin can produce similar sounds? Thank you.

Edited by syoka wong

Most synths have two very important controls readily available, "Cutoff" and "Resonance." These are essentially EQs that allow only certain frequencies to pass (Cutoff), and then enhance a select band (Resonance)... and you can do that with pretty much any EQ (even if the virtual synth doesn't have those controls). For your first example, that can be done with a small "horns ensemble" and tweaking the output filters. There is a lot that goes into tailoring a sound, so this is more to get you on a path for learning (sorry that there isn't a "slam dunk" answer for you). Attached is a video that focuses more on Cutoff and Resonance and how they work. For you, it would help learn with a "synth" instrument and play with Resonance and Cutoff on a "horns" patch to understand how they work. There are a lot of FREE virtual synths out there to play with. The reason I say that is that BBC Orchestra is limited in its controls and to get the "synth" sounds from it would require more FX added to the output.

Lastly, don't get discouraged with this (very important)... focus on playing and learning. Once you begin to understand controls/FX and what they do, it gets easier each time you set something up.

• Like 1