Need Help With Instrument Definitions

alan933

Question

I did this before with a definition file for another instrument and it worked. I added it to the MASTER.INS

WIth this one I tried to import it and it did import but when I set the define , the patches do not show on the channel as shown.

Do I need to manually add it to the MASTER.INS? That didn't work for me either.

Wondering if there there something wrong with the file data for this instrument or something (attached).  Why is this so complicated?

image.png.2d4feb00b9c3dceaa2cb185b1dc2397f.png

image.png

Roland-Juno-DS-200.ins

8 answers to this question

I have no experience with the JUNO-DS, but I did notice that the Bank you have selected (2176) isn't listed in the definition.

[Roland JUNO-DS-Patch]

Control=Roland Controllers
BankSelMethod=2

Patch[11136]=JUNO-DS User 501-628
Patch[11200]=JUNO-DS PRESET 1-128
Patch[11201]=JUNO-DS PRESET 129-256
Patch[11202]=JUNO-DS PRESET 257-384
Patch[11203]=JUNO-DS PRESET 385-512
Patch[11204]=JUNO-DS PRESET 513-640
Patch[11205]=JUNO-DS PRESET 641-768
Patch[11206]=JUNO-DS PRESET 769-896
Patch[11207]=JUNO-DS PRESET 897-1024
Patch[11208]=JUNO-DS PRESET 1025-1082
Patch[15488]=JUNO-DS GM2 Capital
Patch[15489]=JUNO-DS GM2 Var #1
Patch[15490]=JUNO-DS GM2 Var #2
Patch[15491]=JUNO-DS GM2 Var #3
Patch[15492]=JUNO-DS GM2 Var #4
Patch[15493]=JUNO-DS GM2 Var #5
Patch[15494]=JUNO-DS GM2 Var #6
Patch[15495]=JUNO-DS GM2 Var #7
Patch[15496]=JUNO-DS GM2 Var #8
Patch[15497]=JUNO-DS GM2 Var #9
Patch[11209]=JUNO-DS DS PRESET 1-128
Patch[11210]=JUNO-DS DS PRESET 129-184

It's been a while since I used bank switching, but it seems to me that (1) if the JUNO-DS instrument definition is available to Cakewalk (Individually or as apart of a Master file) and (2) has been assigned to the desired MIDI Channels, you would need to have (3) a listed Bank selected that points to the name of the list of presets for the bank you are using.