Track Template tips and tricks needed

jkoseattle

I think I need to be using Track Templates for my project, and I'd like to hereby solicit tips and tricks that may make my life easier, as the stakes are high and I've never used them before.

I have a 12-movement piece in which each movement is a separate CW project with mostly the same set of midi instruments. Each movement features (solos) different instruments, however. I mixed each movement separately as I would finish it. Now I have to put it all together and make each movement sound the same as all the others. Shoulda been thinking about this long ago, I know. But here I am now, so there we have it. 

I don't know how I should proceed here. Should I save each track as a track template in each movement, and then try to reconcile them somehow? That sounds like a grueling month of work. Maybe I should export audio for each movement in separate wavs for each track, and plug those into some sort of master project? That sounds more doable, but am I going to tear my hair out trying to work with a 35-minute CW project consisting of 50 audio tracks? And if I do that, what do I retain in my exported tracks, and what should I take out and re-insert in the master for all tracks? O woe, o woe... Shall I ne'er be free of this torment? 

I can't help you with your specific project, but I'll give you this.  Think about your most common workflows, whatever that may be, and set up a template with the tools and tracks you know you'll need.  I personally have a few templates ready to go at all times for my projects.  I have a folder, with several sub-folders split into 5.  

1. pre-production

2. production

3. vox

4. mix

5. master