Patch Assignment Doesn't Work

Guy Allen

This morning I was working on a track and all of the sudden, Sonar will not play the desired patch on either of my REAL sythenesizers. It has worked for years but now all it does is play the first patch of the selected bank. Nothing else has changed (that I am aware of.).

I am no newbie as I have been using Cakewalk since 1988 (DOS days), and patch changing (or choosing) has always worked. It still works on my Cakewalk versions of Sonar (pre-bandlab).

Any ideas?

I’m thinking maybe midi channel assignment needs to be specific? Do the tracks have a specific midi channel assigned?

...also thinking, there are patch change enabkes in most instruments. Maybe it got accidentally changed?

Edited by Keni

I think you may have missed that I have beeen using these type of products since 1988, the midi channel makes no difference at all. If I set a track to midi channel 5 and set the patch to patch 22 of bank 5, it will play patch 1. It will not change even while the midi file is playing. The patch will change if I change the bank, but again only patch1 one of that bank. It WORKS with the same file on Sonar X3 Studio, but alas I need the new DAW effects for this project. 

I do all the setting for the track in the track settings. Nothing ever changes during the song (besides notes and stuff, not the actual instrument or MIDI channel).

I have reinstalled Sonar twice today, and wiped out all the settings files. I am at my wits end on this. (I am also a software engineer so this seems like a very strange bug to me, first time it's happened to me in all of my 25+ years working on a Cakewalk based DAW.

Here are my machine specs, I'm pretty sure they are sufficient.

capabilities.jpg

Edited by Guy Allen