No sound recorded when using "Drum Pro"

Jaden

Hey everyone, I'm new to cakewalk and I've had some success using the standard cakewalk plugins and other plugins like massive, however when I try to use the free drums called "Drum Pro" I can never get any sound to actually record. The input registers on cakewalk (it can hear it) and I can hear the drums through my speakers, but when I go into record mode, nothing gets laid down. I've tried everything I can think of. Any thoughts?

1 hour ago, Jaden said:

Hey everyone, I'm new to cakewalk and I've had some success using the standard cakewalk plugins and other plugins like massive, however when I try to use the free drums called "Drum Pro" I can never get any sound to actually record. The input registers on cakewalk (it can hear it) and I can hear the drums through my speakers, but when I go into record mode, nothing gets laid down. I've tried everything I can think of. Any thoughts?

What are you using to trigger the drums? By any chance, are you trying to record from Drum Pro's UI Pads with a mouse?  If so, try using a midi keyboard or one of Cakewalk's built-in virtual controllers.  

Are you able to record midi notes and have them played back?

I just tested Drum Pro and was able to record midi notes into an Instrument Track using both a midi keyboard and a Virtual Controller.

Edited by User 905133
edits

Thank you for the suggestion of trying the virtual controller! After "using" that, my Akai MPK Mini mkIII magically started working with the drums too. So no more problems.

However, I notice that most of the sounds on the Drum Pro plugin make ugly crackling clipping-like noises half the time you fire themThank you for the suggestion of trying the virtual controller! After "using" that, my Akai MPK Mini mkIII magically started working with the drums too. So no more problems.