Track 2 picking up midi from recording in Track one (making horrible noise!) when trying to play back audio - why?

KinglyVale

Question

Hi all,

Just reinstalled windows recently and sorting out all my vsts and DAW - never had this issue before - but as I said my midi recording in track one is playing through all new instruments I add and I have no idea why, even though they're in a totally separate track. 

Help please?

I am a complete novice so no idea what to do.

Edit: Seems to be an issue only so far with Kontakt / Native instruments. I can overlay Spitfire LABS instruments without this issue.

Screenshot_1.png

Edited by KinglyVale
upload pic

7 answers to this question

Uncheck "Enable MIDI Output":

image.png.4dcd2b4929521e5c12b72a7d9e202609.png

What is happening is, the MIDI Output of track 1 is being fed to track 2.

You can stop this from happening in future, by clicking on the "Insert Synth Properties" button on the synth rack...

image.png.60edd0cddd41a5417ac00ebd21835a51.png

... then unchecking "Enable MIDI Output if Available":

image.png.6b6ec8340c9f395ad4a2bf8206d32ba1.png

4 hours ago, KinglyVale said:

don't even know what a 'Midi in' is.

This is referring to the Input (labeled 'I') in  a MIDI in Instrument track. Usually you want to set this to the specific port and channel that your keyboard/controller is on. Then it doesn't matter if MIDI messages are coming from other sources; they'll be ignored. If you don't explcitly set it, it will default to All Inputs - Omni (all channels), and the track will echo everything to the synth.

image.png.54fec0083bf6c354847a192a221b1b23.png

5 hours ago, KinglyVale said:

thanks. As I've never had this issue ,I don't even know what a 'Midi in' is. I am mostly an acoustic artist who just started in music production. Can you explain it in simpler terms or show screenshots? TY!