Jump to content
eric.birchall

Deletion of un selected tracks SOLVED

Recommended Posts

Maybe someone can help. I was recording vocals , then press undo (or delete key) and a midi file was also deleted  see video.

I was using nested folders, tts, lounge lizard and sending midi to 2 korg

keyboards

I tried ctrl shift A to make sure only my audio was selected

Any explanation welcome

I can duplicate this but my 5sec video is  too large

Ric

Edited by eric.birchall
Solution

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Host the video on another site.

 

I use imgur.com for all images and videos. This way I don't have to worry about this forum's user upload quota.

After uploading a file to imgur, click on it then click the copy button next to the BBCode and paste into the post here, like this

iJRBBFR.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That is the link to a page holding the video.

It is usable but I prefer to embed files in my posts.

To do this, your account images

EZeRsr8.png

then click on the file to get a screen like the one I posted above.

This has the BBCode which will embed the video into a post.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I guess what the video shows is

  1. a delete,
  2. an undo then
  3. pan to show only track 23 is selected.

Have you tried to save the project, close and then re-open it then perform the delete?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I will try tonight , but i thought i had closed Cwb and reopened it. First time ive used imgur , feeling my way around it!

I might eliminate all the nested folders as this was the only main change to my normal workflow

Cheers Scook

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You do realize if you accidentally delete something you use undo to bring it back. 
it’s obviously dangerous to use Ctrl A which is select all. 
It you want to highlight all the data in a track,  click on the track number. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks  John . I used undo to correct the problem but i did want to redo the vocal track again so I want to delete the audio take and it takes the other tracks with it. I tried ctrl shift A which i think was deselect all to ensure something i could not see was selected

Wonder if something could be somehow linking the tracks behind the scene. Ive never seen anything like this before!

Ric

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, scook said:

That is the link to a page holding the video.

It is usable but I prefer to embed files in my posts.

To do this, your account images

EZeRsr8.png

then click on the file to get a screen like the one I posted above.

This has the BBCode which will embed the video into a post.

 

O2SAmfD.mp4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Have you got Ripple Edit All enabled?  It's unclear from your video. But that would explain what is happening.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, eric.birchall said:

Maybe someone can help. I was recording vocals , then press undo (or delete key) and a midi file was also deleted  see video.

I was using nested folders, tts, lounge lizard and sending midi to 2 korg

keyboards

I tried ctrl shift A to make sure only my audio was selected

Any explanation welcome

I can duplicate this but my 5sec video is  too large

Ric

 

35 minutes ago, msmcleod said:

Have you got Ripple Edit All enabled?  It's unclear from your video. But that would explain what is happening.

Had to look in the manual for that! Track options ripple edit all was set. Thanks for the solution I don't know how it was set. Thanks again 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And FYI to make a short screen capture  video. try LiceCap. it makes a short GIF video. I post those to Giffy. But you can also use Imgur

Edited by John Vere

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now

×
×
  • Create New...