Getting there...slowly!

Nigel Jackson

I'm very new to MIDI/mixing/drums (only recently starting learning!) and only using CbB to play Steven Slate SSD5 drum sounds when I play...I'm not using CbB to create or record.

After quite a bit of faffing around I've finally got my Roland TD-17 triggering SSD5 in CbB , and can hear the SSD5 drum sounds through speakers or earphones which are connected to the TD-17.

But I've no idea if the method I've used is the CORRECT way to do this, and if I turn down one of the knobs in the master inspector panel I can hear the normal TD-17 sounds.

Can anyone tell me if this is the right way to do this - sorry if my terminology is wrong?...

- Select ASIO driver mode
- Start an empty project
- In the Browser select the instrument panel, select Steven Slate SSDSampler5 and drag it into the Track Pane
- The Insert Soft Synth Options dialog opens - select Simple Instrument Track, click OK
- In the track set the input to Midi Omni
- In the Inspector I can now see the ProChannel - in the TUBE section if I turn up the Output knob I hear the SSD5 drum kit when I play. If I turn down the Output knob I hear the TD-17 sounds

Am I doing this right? Am I still able to hear the TD-17 sounds because I have the speakers/earphones plugged into the TD-17, not coming off the laptop? In the TUBE section, how should I use the Input and Output knobs - should they be balanced - if not, what?

And maybe a load of other questions later!

Thanks,

The pro channel is for inserting effects to a track. It is not for routing audio. I think you’re over boosting the signal using that effect. Don’t. 
The instrument track you inserted will need the input echo button on and have its output set to a master buss which should then go to your sound device.