Unable to select Windows as audio output

agnorok

Hello,

I'm having trouble getting Cakewalk to output audio to my computer's 3.5mm jack. My goal is to mimic what I was able to do with GarageBand on OSX; connect my guitar through a USB interface, play with GarageBand's amp emulator, listen through my 3.5mm headphones directly from the computer.

My setup: Guitar -> Focusrite Scarlett Solo 3rd Gen (Input) -> Cakewalk v2021.04 (build 175, 64b) -> Scarlett Solo (output)

I am able to hear output audio from the Scarlett Solo 6.5mm jack, but for convenience it would be nice to use my computer audio. I'm just learning and trying to get the most simple practice setup I can on Windows.

For starters, Cakewalk recognizes my Scarlett as the only audio device. Is there a way to add the windows audio drivers here?

cakewalk.PNG

CbB is running in ASIO driver mode.

This is the preferred setting when using an audio interface with a manufacturer supplied ASIO driver.

ASIO supports one I/O driver at a time.

If there were other ASIO drivers installed they would show up on the preference screen above.

Unfortunately, the RealTek ASIO driver is not very good. And even if it was a good driver, it is not possible to select the Focurite ASIO driver for input and a different driver for output.

As a rule, ASIO drivers do not support mixing hardware from different manufacturers. Only a few manufacturers supply ASIO drivers that support using multiple interfaces at a time.

You can try changing the driver mode to WASAPI shared or WDM. The internal sound chip should be one of the devices available and these driver modes allow multiple different devices, however; there are performance trade-offs using these modes instead of the ASIO driver designed for the interface.

From a performance and reliability standpoint, this

My setup: Guitar -> Focusrite Scarlett Solo 3rd Gen (Input) -> Cakewalk v2021.04 (build 175, 64b) -> Scarlett Solo (output)