Serious newbie trying to figure out how to make a song...

Ruby Gold

Hi there. I'm brand new to DAWs in general and to Cakewalk in particular, but have managed to figure out some of the basics through tutorials, reading, etc. That said, I'm still a babe wandering around a dark forest. I work on a new Dell laptop, but it has a built-in sound card - so nothing special there.

I wrote a song that has a melody line and some chords. When I play the chords with the melody on my ancient (maybe 16 years old - so no modern outputs/inputs) Yamaha keyboard, the chords sound good with the melody, but when I tried to input them note by note with the virtual piano that comes with Cakewalk in piano roll mode, they sound terrible - like a 'plunk' -  not remotely 'real' sounding, nor do they sound like they 'go' with the melody line (that they sound perfectly in synch with when played on said keyboard).

Does anyone have suggestions - written so a newbie can understand them, please - to either make the entered notes/chords from the virtual instrument sound more real, OR what a good, simple new keyboard/converter set-up would be to play actual notes/chords and get them into Cakewalk as they sound when played? I'm not thinking a midi controller, I'm thinking some kind of real keyboard with the ability to get bits of music onto a track in Cakewalk sounding how it sounds when played. And, on the latter, an explanation of equipment needed to make that happen.  If these are ignorant questions - I apologize.  Just trying to figure out how to get this song made so it sounds reasonable. Thanks in advance!

If your Yamaha keyboard has MIDI in / out port, all you need is MIDI interface so you can record your playing to Cakewalk as MIDI data. There you can also capture the dynamic & touch of your playing. Then you can edit the notes / MIDI track in piano roll when necessary.