Cakewalk newbie here! Why does sound change upon exporting?

Diana Chahine

So, I'm pretty sure it's a setting thing, but the reason I downloaded Cakewalk in the first place was to be able to remove a background noise/hissing that's caused by my USB mic. I'm now recording using Cakewalk and there's no background noise when listening to the track back on Cakewalk, (I've used the Sonitus Gate for this specific track) however when I export it, it brings that background noise back again.

How do I export it exactly as it sounds in Cakewalk?? What should I set these settings to? https://ibb.co/680V5Nz 

I use the Master mix default originally but changed the bit depth to 16 for CD burning.  If you go to FILE / Export it will open a dialog box. The default works perfectly for me ( other than bit depth)  as far as duplicating what I was hearing in Cakewalk.  Notice it says "entire mix" and all mix enables are checked. 

2020-11-30.png.0b45bed8e3748ba321bbf55280aeae11.png

13 minutes ago, John Vere said:

I use the Master mix default originally but changed the bit depth to 16 for CD burning.  If you go to FILE / Export it will open a dialog box. The default works perfectly for me ( other than bit depth)  as far as duplicating what I was hearing in Cakewalk.  Notice it says "entire mix" and all mix enables are checked...

Just tried that and that didn't work... Is there somewhere I need to enable presets or the Gate or something?

Ok that look like the effects bin of the track. But I see you track is going to your on board sound card speakers. 
this might cause the issue if you’re export is not using the same output 

this is one reason why I would recommend a dedicated audio interface and a proper mike and cable. It would be dead quiet and the system is designed for professional results. USB mikes are meant for podcasts and as you are finding out pour quality audio.