audio interface issues

Kenrout

Hi, hope someone can point me in the right direction.  I am brand new to the worlds of DAWs, have installed cakewalk & want to record guitar & vocals.  My PC has win 10, 64 bit, my soundcard is Soundblaster ZXR & io have a focusrite scarlet 2i2.  I am having problems setting the audio devices (do i need to set input 
& output drivers to focusrite or soundblaster) when i set to focusrite it seems to record but i can't hear anything, when i set to SB i don't know if it is performing properly.  I realise that for many of you this question may be ridiculously easy, apologies but i don't know the answer and i am keen to learn.  A lot of the tutorials go at 100mph and assume you have prior knowledge.... not the case with me.  Any help you can offer will be greatly appreciated, TIA

cakewalk.JPG

Hi Martin, thanks for the reply.  so i have input drivers & output drivers, are you suggesting that i need to set input drivers to focusrite (i have to uncheck all other options before doing this) and then set output drivers to the focusrite also?? incidentally when i select focusrite for input the only option i can select for output is also focusrite, i cannot select any other option, (or i can leave that section unchecked) which of these are correct?? many thanks.

ok, thanks.  i currently have my phones connected to the front monitor port (and can hear only when recording) but not playback - silence!! there are left & right outputs (1/4") on the back, should i wire these into my speakers or should the front monitor provide sound for playback??

I'm not sure if you mentioned it.. but you need to install the Focusrite Scarlet driver. That can be found on Focusrite's website.

Once you install that, you will want to uncheck your soundblaster sound card from this preference menu. You will want to select ASIO as your driver mode and then check mark next to your Focusrite input/ouput.

Great advice here from everyone.