Apple officially move MACs off of X86 to ARM.

InstrEd

47 minutes ago, Tony Carpenter said:

I feel the death of Hackinstosh is inevitable!.

It does seem that way.   Mac no more 32bit app support and they can do it and the Mac Masses will follow. Windows users not so much!

I never thought Steve Jobs was a god. I don't own an iPhone. I don't like walled gardens or Tim Cook. I don't buy Macs.

But if this is reasonably priced, as I guess it will be in the early stages to drive adoption, this will be a game changer and I will move to a Mac laptop. The only thing that will stop me is if they play stupid storage games (as in ridiculous prices for paltry amounts).

I've know ARM since I studied at Cambridge and the architecture and people are first class and Apple has invested huge amounts to customise and build upon that architecture. Intel has lost the plot, essentially because it messed up the transition to 10nm and 7nm and its performance is nothing like it should be because of its need to support legacy x86. The performance of Apple's processors is superb, as is their low power consumption. Their Apple operating system will make the most of the full capabilities of the hardware.

Imagine being able to run all those great iPad music apps directly on a laptop...

Over the last few years, I've made sure that when I buy software, I am buying a Mac and PC licence - hence the move to Studio One.

Apple does plenty of hype but this is huge. Bigger than most people realise.

Intel. Microsoft and PC manufacturers will have to innovate, change the way they operate.

@musical I do hope you’re right. I definitely feel the winds of a change. I can imagine the scramble this is going to cause at the third party plugin and VSTi makers. On top of that possibly hardware interface makers?. Not sure how low code they rely on. 

it’s going to change a lot of things I’m sure. I’ve been on this ride since the mid 80s. Watch this space :).

Tony