"Background Roar"

Barry Seymour

I've been a musician for almost 50 years. I took a few decades off (!) but now I'm getting back into it, and I'm working hard to learn Cakewalk.

I'm seeking feedback on my second recording, mainly from a Cakewalk perspective. I feel I'm doing pretty good, but I am not quite getting the professional-sounding results I'd like.

Let me know what you think; I'd appreciate any constructive criticism.

Background Roar

Thanks!

Barry

Edited by Barry Seymour
  • Like 2

Barry

Welcome to the forum!

Well, maybe not constructive criticism here, just a comment.
The mix and all sounds good to me but I'm no sound engineer.  Just wanted to say that the story and your lyrics are absolutely top notch. And your voice has that rugged quality to it that's perfect for the song.

I know what you mean by background noise. What I hear is the distant freeway plus tinnitus, but I pretend it's the soothing sound of a river. 😃

• Thanks 1

1 hour ago, Barry Seymour said:

I was a musician for a long time

I think you mean "I've been a musician a long time, took some time off"....
I feel some Springsteen influence and a bit of Detroit's poet laureate Bob Segar.
And I mean that in the most respectful way!
Great storytelling, fine performances, the engineering and mixing are a craft that
only "practice" will improve. Do it, do it some more; lather, rinse, repeat over and  over...

Well done my brother!

👍👍

t

that load of thumbs, from the national stockpile, showed up this morning 😉

oh,

29 minutes ago, bjornpdx said:

Welcome to the forum!

Yes, in spades

• Thanks 1

1 hour ago, bjornpdx said:

The mix and all sounds good to me but I'm no sound engineer.  Just wanted to say that the story and your lyrics are absolutely top notch. And your voice has that rugged quality to it that's perfect for the song.

I know what you mean by background noise. What I hear is the distant freeway plus tinnitus, but I pretend it's the soothing sound of a river