Weird repeating MIDI note problem

Brad Allen

Question

I am a total novice with MIDI, so I apologize if this seems like a stupid question.  This may not be strictly a Cakewalk issue - I have no idea.  I've searched these forums as well as a ton of others through googling and haven't seen anything regarding this specific problem.  Posted solutions to sticking note problems haven't helped.  And I should point out it's MIDI through USB.  I have used a couple versions of Sonar in the past, and am just now using the new version.  I have used this keyboard a LOT with Cakewalk for many years without an issue.  With the X2 version I did have this problem and I don't recall whether I got it working or just gave up, since I stopped doing anything musical around then.  If it ended up working, which I seem to remember it did, I wish I could remember how!  It's been a long time and I'm just now starting to try to scratch the creative itch again.

My issue is using my keyboard and trying to use a VST instrument.  When I create the track, it's already receiving a repeating signal, so it hits a note over and over at a regular pace (about 1/2 second) as if I was pressing the key on the keyboard repeatedly.  They keyboard itself isn't being played (I'm not touching the keyboard and it doesn't sound on the keyboard - only in the DAW), and I can play around the repeated note in the DAW - even the same note - but that note never stops repeating.  If the keyboard isn't connected there's no issue, and I can play the virtual keyboard in a VST without this problem.