No sound in Cakewalk

Tracy

Question

I did a quick sketch in HookTheory and exported it as a MIDI file. I then imported said file into Cakewalk successfully, but I get no sound on playback. All the tracks appear to be there, I just can't hear them. I've checked my drivers in "preferences", and they appear to be there. What am I missing? (I'm new to Bandlab, so it could be a setting I missed.)

Dance With Me Example.mid

10 answers to this question

23 minutes ago, Tracy said:

I did a quick sketch in HookTheory and exported it as a MIDI file. I then imported said file into Cakewalk successfully, but I get no sound on playback. All the tracks appear to be there, I just can't hear them. I've checked my drivers in "preferences", and they appear to be there. What am I missing? (I'm new to Bandlab, so it could be a setting I missed.)

Dance With Me Example.mid 15.07 kB · 0 downloads

Welcome to the forum.
MIDI is just information that tells a synth what to play. Do you have a synthesizer, software or hardware, connected and do you have the routing correct from the MIDI track to the synth to the sound card/audio interface?

• Like 1

1 hour ago, 57Gregy said:

MIDI is just information that tells a synth what to play. Do you have a synthesizer, software or hardware, connected and do you have the routing correct from the MIDI track to the synth to the sound card/audio interface?

The file works with GM [General MIDI] synths.  As @57Gregy comments, you need to route the MIDI data to a software or a hardware synth (some device that will play sounds).  The file worked for me using an old Roland M-GS64 (hardware sound module) as well as an old TTS-1 softsynth.

Thanks for responding. I've been doing this new hobby for a couple of months, so STEEP learning curve. So I'm understanding that I need an additional device or software, and the computer speakers are not enough?  (Probably a dumb question, but this is my first go at this.)