Confused about mastering

Billy86

Hi. I'm new to the mastering world and I'm confused as to settings in CbB as they relate to my new mastering plugin, Ozone 8. (Thanks Santa!)

Basically, I'm trying to understand how CbB's export audio function and Ozone 8's mastering duties interact. I have a mixdown stereo wave file of the song, exported from CbB at the same sample and bit rate as I recorded, 44.1/24 with no dithering (I want O8 to handle that). I have brought that "raw" wave file into a new session of CbB for mastering. So I have the wave file on a track that outputs to the master, on which I've inserted Ozone 8. I want O8 to handled all the "output to MP3" and dithering (down to 16 bit) duties. The O8 manual instructs that it should be the last thing to touch the audio, especially because of its dithering duties. 

My question: In my mastering session, when I "File\Export Audio" from CbB, and the output is passing audio through O8 on the master bus, do I set CbB export parameters to 44.1/24bit wave file -- because I want the "raw" stereo mixdown of the recording passing through O8, and it will be doing the conversion to 44.1/16bit MP3? If I set CbB "export audio" as 16bit MP3, does O8 then perform those functions AGAIN because I've set it up that way?  

Thanks for any help.

Billy

11 minutes ago, Billy86 said:

do I set CbB export parameters to 44.1/24bit wave file -- because I want the "raw" stereo mixdown of the recording passing through O8

This. Although consider exporting at the render bit depth set in CbB instead of the record bit depth. The default render depth is 32. Check your preferences.

4 hours ago, scook said:

This. Although consider exporting at the render bit depth set in CbB instead of the record bit depth. The default render depth is 32. Check your preferences.