MIDI and soft synth best practice?

bassface

Hi all.. im a bit new to this and its a bit confusing...

my question is ..how do the pro's control several soft synths..ie all on OMNI or dedicated midi channels.

whats the best practice for using several soft synths.

if some one could answer/point me to a tutorial/youtube clip etc

that would be great

Thanks

Omni directs any midi to your synth.

When you have multiple midi inputs that go to different synths you don't want omni.

For each midi channel you want to select the correct input.

Don't forget there are midi only plugins like filters and delays and other cool things.

Edited by Gswitz

Each synth  presents its own port to Cakewalk, so unless it's a multitimbral synth that needs separate channels to drive separate instruments, you don't need to use a specific channel to drive it; it will respond to anything, and because it's a separate port, the MIDI on the track that Outputs to that port can't be picked up by any other synth. For single-channel. 'mono-timbral' synths like this it's easiest to insert it as a Simple Instrument that automatically sets up the MIDI and Audio routing to and from the synth for you, but I often recommend using separate tracks and setting up the routing yourself until you thoroughly understand how it all works.. 

The reference to not using Omni is referring to the MIDI (or Simple Instrument) track's Input assignment. That doesn't need to be set to a specific channel, either, but you do want to set it to only listen to your keyboard/controller's port. With the Input set to Omni, it's possible for the track to pick up and echo MIDI being passed through or generated by other synths that have MIDI Out capability. The only time you might need to specify an input channel is if your keyboard is transmitting on more than one channel at the same time.

Edited by David Baay

2 hours ago, bassface said: