What would you play on the guitar with only one finger ?

kennywtelejazz

Kids these days, man... I'm embarassed to say that I've been playing guitar for almost 40 years.

I was watching Tim Henson the other day when he popped up in my feed for an Ernbie Ball add. Make what you will of his "boomer bend" remark, but he is an amazing guitarist. I don't really like what he plays, and I like to think that it's not that I'm too illiterate or too old, but still - the kid's amazing. 

Same with a lot of those young people posting reels on Instagram. I guess it's normal for certain human abilities to improve from generation to generation, but I feel the gap here is quite fantastic. Of course there's always a bunch of geezers putting them down and telling them they have no feel, but, having grown up in the 80's with Malmsteen and all those guys, that's nothing new.

• Like 3

9 hours ago, Rain said:

bunch of geezers putting them down and telling them they have no feel, but, having grown up in the 80's with Malmsteen and all those guys, that's nothing new

Agreed. I never got into Malmstren, but I had to give him props. Phenomenal guitar player.

I first saw Polyphia in the video that someone posted not long ago with Steve Via. When I started watching the video I had no idea Via was in it. I just kept watching it because I was impressed and in awe of thier playing.  They are taking the two guitar harmony thing up a few levels. A good many levels!!

10 hours ago, Rain said:

I'm embarassed to say that I've been playing guitar for almost 40 years.

I felt that way after seeing Vai in concert. Then I watch Polyphia and wonder why I even bother.

But I got something inside that just can't get out any other way, other than me pick that guitar up and play it.

Back to the OP, that is an impressive video. Dynamic and clean. 

• Like 2

5 hours ago, Notes_Norton said:

I'd probably play "One Note Samba" (Samba de uma Nota Só)

:D