Lucille (a Cover)

freddy j

This is the first time (and probably the last) that I have submitted a cover song.  A long time in a place far away, I was listening to our local community radio station when I heard this absoflippinlutely great rendition of the Everly Brothers arrangement of the Richard Penniman (Little Richard) song Lucille.  For any "Youngbloods" reading this, that are not familiar with this song by these artist, I recommend that you go on YouTube and bend an ear to both the Everly and Little Richard recordings.  Unfortunately, I did not get the name of the band but I quickly plugged in my guitar are recorded a couple of tracks of what I remembered.  A while ago I ran across this this recording and finished it up. 

As always I would appreciate any comments, suggestions, crit's, etc. but as this is my first time (for a cover) please be gentle.

Thanks.

LUCILLE   ( A COVER)

https://www.soundclick.com/artist/default.cfm?bandid=963481

• Like 4

Hey Freddie, wow, for a minute there I thought you were gonna do Richard and I thought man, Freddie's got a pair to attempt that.  BUT, your cover of Everly's version is great -- your vocals are spot-on as is the feel of this -- everything is just right and a toe-tapper.  I enjoyed this a lot -- good work!  :)  -- Allan.

Whaaa?  Freddy's doing a Little Richard cover? OK the Everly Brothers then. I knew Pat Boone had done a cover, but didn't know about the Everly Bros. Anyway, I thought you did a great job on this. The voc treatment is good and the overall sound is as well. And I love that 50s guitar riff.
-Bjorn

Hi RikF.  Thanks very much for taking the time to listen and for the kind comments.  Much appreciated and I'm glad that you liked it.