Roland Fantom XR and Cakewalk

Louis

Hello all
I cant change the patches on my XR via Cakewalk.  I can change the bank which changes the default patch for that bank. I can change the patch using the Librarian, so I think my hardware setup is correct.  But I'm not sure of the software setup.

Equipment
Korg X-50 (in, out)
Roland Fantom XR (in, out, bypass)
Roland GI-20 (in, out)
Miditech MIDIface 8x8 MIDI Interface (8 in, 8 out)

MIDI -ox
6 channel mixer board (Usb only)
Windows PC 10

Appreciate any help you can through my way.  I have been studying this sound engineering for a couple of months.  Steep learning curve and lots of information.

Does the Roland Fantom XR transmit Patch changes via MIDI when you change a patch.

Maybe you can use Cakewalk to record what the Roland Fantom XR transmits so you can get an idea of what the XR expects.

In  Preferences - MIDI - Playback and Recording, make sure Patch Changes is selected under “Record"

You could also use an instrument definition file for the Roland Fantom XR.

https://www.roland.com/global/support/by_product/fantom-xr/updates_drivers/caae31ad-be3a-4735-a7a7-a28370c24e97/

On 10/27/2022 at 9:13 PM, Promidi said:

Does the Roland Fantom XR transmit Patch changes via MIDI when you change a patch.

Maybe you can use Cakewalk to record what the Roland Fantom XR transmits so you can get an idea of what the XR expects.

In  Preferences - MIDI - Playback and Recording, make sure Patch Changes is selected under “Record"

You could also use an instrument definition file for the Roland Fantom XR.

https://www.roland.com/global/support/by_product/fantom-xr/updates_drivers/caae31ad-be3a-4735-a7a7-a28370c24e97/

I do have an ins file, and  I can see and change what bank and patch to use.  It selects the correct bank but only will play the first bank, even though it says another patch selected?  Thanks for the reply.

Is there a way to see what midi messages are being sent and received in cakewalk?